Sweet Potato Flour Tortillas (adapted from gf and me)

I miss flour tortillas. I mean, I love corn tortillas and everything but sometimes I just want a good old quesadilla with a crispy flour tortilla. A quesadilla is just not the same with corn shells. IMG_4871

I have tried the store bought GF tortillas and still have not found one I love. Then I stumbled across THIS recipe from gf and me (if you are gluten free and haven’t check out gf and me yet…you’re missing out, they have some pretty awesome stuff) I made them twice and loved the chewy texture and the taste. The only problem I had was rolling out the dough, I found it to be very elastic and I couldn’t get them as thin as I wanted. Don’t get me wrong they were still amazingly delicious, I just wanted them thinner.

IMG_4844

I never really thought about trying to adapt the recipe till one day I was sitting on the couch with some Trader Joe’s Sweet potato corn chips and hummus and I thought to myself, “ Hey! I love these so much I bet sweet potatoes would be good in flour tortillas too!” So, naturally I used the best flour tortillas recipe I had and added some sweet potatoes. When I originally thought to add the sweet potato I was going for flavor. I wanted to be able to taste that sweet potato flavor like I could with the corn chips.

IMG_4856

Well, they don’t really taste like sweet potatoes, not even a little. So I failed there BUT what did end up happening was a slight change in the texture of the dough (not to mention they are now a really pretty orange color). The sweet potatoes made it so I was able to roll the dough out really thin, without tearing! Plus they still kept that great chewy texture and taste I loved from the original recipe.

IMG_4865

So, I am officially in love with these tortillas. I was so excited I even made chicken quesadillas that night for dinner and they were AMAZING. They are also awesome dipped in hummus or wrapped up with some peanut butter. If you don’t like sweet potatoes or just don’t have any on hand try out the original recipe, either way you will end up with some pretty fantastic GF tortillas. Now I just need to figure out how to make that sweet potato flavor come out more. I’ll let you know if I do. Till then, enjoy!

Ingredients:

2/3 cup corn starch
2/3 cup tapioca flour/starch
¼ cup + 3 tablespoons of potato flour
3 ½ tablespoons sorghum flour
½ cup mashed sweet potato
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup + 3 tablespoons water

Directions:

With if fork poke some holes in the sweet potato, wrap it in a damp paper towel and microwave for 5-6 minutes depending on the size you can bake it too, but for the sake of time I just microwaved it).

While potato is cooking mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Peel off the skin of the cooked sweet potato and discard, mash the insides and add to the flour mixture. Using a fork mix as well as you can, mixture will be crumbly. Add the water starting with just the ¾ of a cup. This is when you will just need to use your hands to mix it. Once you mix it as much as you can add the 3 tablespoons one at a time. If the mixture is too dry you can add more water or if it seems good after just one or two of the tablespoons, stop there. The mixture should be stretchy and slightly sticky but able to hold form in a ball. You don’t want it too wet or you won’t be able to work with it. Some sweet potatoes contain more moisture than others that is why the amounts of water can change.

Once the dough is formed cover with a damp paper towel while you prepare your rolling surface. Dust the counter or baking mat with some cornstarch. Rip off a golf ball sized chunk of dough and roll out as thing as you can with a rolling pin. If you have a tortilla press that is even better. I had a hard time getting mine perfectly round but it can be done if you rotate it a lot when rolling. If it starts to stick make sure you are keeping it lightly dusted with cornstarch. Once you have rolled out all the dough. Heat a nonstick pan to medium high. Cook the tortillas about 20-30 seconds on each side. Or when the dough puffs slightly and gets some nice brown spots.

Place on cooling rack to for a few minutes. They will cool quickly then you can stack them. If you just place them on the counter or stack them when they are hot they can get soggy from the steam.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Flour Tortillas (adapted from gf and me)

  1. gfandme says:

    These look and sound fantastic. Going to have to try this!

  2. […] a version that uses mashed sweet potato see Fitness, Food, and Feeling Good! We haven’t tried sweet potato, but we did try mashed potato. The tortillas are easier to […]

Leave a Reply

